Why do you collect Disney pins?

My Stitch Pin Board

My Stitch Pin Board

“Why do you collect them?” asked the young boy in line at the Disney Soda Fountain.  I was stumped.  I’ve been collecting Disney Trading pins for a couple of years.  I enjoy going to Disneyland and Disney World and trading pins with cast members.  I like hanging out with my pin book full of traders by Little Green Men store in the park and trading with other guests.  It’s fun. 

“Why is it fun?” How do you explain why a hobby is fun?  He didn’t understand the idea of collecting…anything. I tried to explain that I enjoy scavenger hunts and a lot of times finding a pin for a collection is like a scavenger hunt. That seemed to be a satisfactory answer for him.

However, I think it’s more than that. I enjoy spending time with my fiancé. I enjoy meeting new people and hearing their stories. I enjoy the sense of community among the pin traders. I enjoy negotiating for trades. I enjoy spotting cast members with lanyards all over the park like a Where’s Waldo game.

It made me wonder…why do other people find their hobbies fun?

Leave a Reply

